Leasing a premise with little experience

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by Emma Andrews, 21st Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Emma Andrews

Emma Andrews Member

I believe I have found a great location for a business but the problem is I have no experience in that line of business. I'm in the process of getting some training currently. My question is, would a landlord accept a lease application from someone that has limited experience or is that too risky for them?

2. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

The landlord would look at your financial situation.

It depends on the popularity of the premises how thoroughly they would investigate and how likely they would be likely to approve.

If you have not previously rented a commercial premises that would go against you more than the lack of experience in that line of business.

3. geoffw

BTW you (or somebody else) would need to be a guarantor. That's not something to be taken lightly- it means that that person is liable for any shortfalls in rent, and the consequences of a guarantor not making up payments is severe.

Also check out the lease terms. Obviously rent, but also annual increases, lease term, options at the end of the term etc. You will probably have to leave the premises in the same way you found them- remove all fittings.

4. Emma Andrews

Emma Andrews Member

Thank you!

I've never rented a commercial premises before so it looks like I might struggle. It has been vacant for a while but I'm not sure of the landlords situation.

5. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

What business are you hoping to run?

6. Emma Andrews

Emma Andrews Member

It's a fast food business

7. Tim & Chrissy

Tim & Chrissy Well-Known Member

Is it in a CBD/Industrial area or a main street?

My in-laws have run take away shops for a very long time.

8. Emma Andrews

Emma Andrews Member