Entertainment & Music Learning a musical instrument

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by bob shovel, 21st Feb, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

G'day musical maestro's

Any tips for how to DIY learn an instrument? Mainly for the kids but I figure I'll need to learn to :). I'm self taught 'bananas in pyjamas ' on the xylophone... gets some serious street cred when out and about :cool:

Any good you tube vids or ways to teach the kids (<5) or atleast get involved with music. What's some good "classical music" (it's always recommended) to listen to, or other genres?

Usually cruise to cold chisel, Kylie Minogue, troy cassar -daley, blink 182 so their getting exposed to the classics ;) the odd play school cd sneaks in

2. GreatPig

GreatPig Well-Known Member

At <5 years old, I think singing is probably the best way to get involved in music. Nothing like a rousing chorus of kookaburra sits in the old gum tree!

But which instrument did you have in mind?

3. bob shovel

Not sure, something easy and kid friendly. Xylophone or keyboard?? Something I can get a head start on I guess

4. geoffw

geoffw Moderator Staff Member

Get a keyboard where you can plug in headphones. For their sanity when you play as well as the other way around.

Learning music is like learning a language. You can get satisfaction by learning a little, but the more you put in the more it improves.

5. GreatPig

GreatPig Well-Known Member

When I was a kid at primary school, we got to use percussion instruments (drums, cymbals, triangles, xylophones, etc.), then progressed on to the recorder. When a bit older, it was on to ukulele then guitar.