Late to the Table

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Sulon, 14th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Sulon

Sulon Member

Hi folks,

Really hoping for some advice or guidance for buying a first home.
    Recently moved from Perth to Melbourne currently renting in Vermont, a bit of a rushed decision as temporary accommodation was pretty painful with 2 bubs.

Family of 4 and will plan to rent in the area we want to buy for a 12 month period. So looking at buying in 12-24 months, will rent as soon as lease is up here. We are both mid 30’s. I’m a school teacher hubby is a youth worker, 3 year old and a 4 month old.

Nice area (like the leafiness and schools are good) but by all accounts we won’t have the budget to buy here.

Budget will be around €6-700k. Priority is a non bogan suburb- that is really important.
    Must be a house on an approx 500sqm plot.
    Happy with an older house.
    Not on a main road.
    Near to a park
    Near to a cafe or 2 and some shops.
    Distance to city not hugely important, public transport not important, beach not important. School zone not hugely important as will most likely go private, probably Catholic for primary and secondary. (Unless the local primary is very good)

Thought Boronia might be an option, drove out there. It’s now off my radar. Husband working in Parkville. I’ll be looking for a school once mat leave ends mid year.

Please share your thoughts for consideration. Every time I try research it I just go down a rabbit hole and don’t know how to go about this. I am an over thinker and am not an impulse buyer. Took 9 years renting in Perth to realize we wanted to live in Melbourne please help!!

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

What is that budget based on?

3. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

Any particular reason? Met the local wildlife in the BWS carpark perhaps on a friday night?