Late 20s, $50k in Super - want to take control of my own super!

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by Dalts, 29th Jul, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Dalts

Dalts Active Member

Hi all,

I'm a professional in my late 20s with around $55k in my superannuation account. Currently, it is managed by BT Super For Life, in an aggressive mix of Domestic/International shares, which make up around 70% of the portfolio. The rest is in Bonds/Infra/Property/Cash (yuck).

However, I want control of my own portfolio, as I would like to invest the balance in LICs. This is because I am quite heavily weighted to property as an investment class (I am on PC after all!).

How on earth do I go about getting control of my own super? Or even better, what funds would you suggest I invest my money into?

Any help is much appreciated.

L3ha7 likes this.
  2. Cadbury99

Cadbury99 Well-Known Member

3. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

Most advisors would tell you that you need $200K in your superannuation account to make it worthwhile to start your own SMSF. If I were wanting ultimate control I’d be heading in that direction.

Illusivedreams likes this.
  4. Dalts

Dalts Active Member

Thanks Cadbury. Would it be a feasible option to move my whole super balance into investments of my choice in Hostplus?

I know that I need $200k to make the fees worthwhile. I guess the question that underlies my OP is "How do I get there quicker? How do I maximise the value of my super to the best of my abilities?

5. Chris Au

Chris Au Well-Known Member

The PDS states what investments are permitted under ChoicePlus. LICs and ETFs fairly limited, haven't looked closely into the shares options.

6. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Contribute up to your annual limit (SGC & salary sacrifice)

7. TSK

TSK Well-Known Member