Land will title in Q4. Borrowing capacity not enough to build anymore. Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Nir, 2nd Jul, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Nir

Nir Well-Known Member

I'm new to buying property and have gotten myself into a a tight situation.

In early 2017
    I signed a contract for a piece of land in Truganina. Some good residential development in the works there (near Woods Road) with a train station proposed within a walking distance. I figured it'll be a nice area in another 3-4 years (similar to how Laverton/Williams Landing grew). With the intent of building my PPR there. Even with the recent market downturn, the land value has appreciated about $50k (from 345k to about $400k). Construction requires another $250k (builder quote). I was counting on getting the FHB grant and stamp duty concession - I have been told I need to build within 12 months to get that.

In 2018
    I bought an investment property in Norlane for $390k. To landbank for a few years. While it hasn't appreciated much since then, it is a very good location (walk to station, schools) so I feel it has good potential for the future.
    It's a small house on big block. Cash flow negative.

Present day
    My developer tells me that my land will title in Q4 2019. So it's a few months away. What my broker said in 2017 about my borrowing capacity is unfortunately very different now :( .
    I spoke to NAB today and was told I am able to service a loan on the land.
    But not the build. So I'm roughly $200k off of what I need to borrow.

A bit about myself:
    • working full-time
    • I rent
    • no family
    • no kids
    • no HECS, credit cards, finance or any loans

I am wondering what to do. There's always the hope that bank lending will loosen up over the next few months...but by $200k is a lot to count on.

Any suggestions? Thanks in advance.

2. Simon Moore