Knock down & build 2 townhouses

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Rowa, 26th Nov, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Rowa

Rowa Member

Hi,

I am new to property development and hoping to buy a block of land to knock down & build 2 townhouses.

I have so many queries to clarify and hope I will be able to get some advise from you, who have gone through this stage.

1. What sort of a block should buy to build 2 townhouses.
    Would it be better to go for a block which has access from 2 roads (a corner block) or a block which is narrow from the front which widen up from the back of the land.

2. Should I inquire from the council whether townhouses could be build on that block prior to purchase

3. How long does it usually take to get the building permits

4. The cost to knock down a single story 4 bedroom house. I know this depends on the condition of the house and just give me an approximate figure if you could.

I live in Melbourne and thought of doing the first development in south-east.

Thanks in advance if you could advise me.... :)

2. Westie

Westie Well-Known Member

1. Corner is better given the two THs may have their own frontages, however it's not always possible.
    2. Look up the zoning of the property. Look around the area for other subdivisions. Speak with council.
    3. Speak with council.
    4. A mate of mine did it in Wantirna, it cost him $18,000, this was 5 years ago. Take this as an indicative figure only.

Other than this, come to the meetup this Friday that @The Y-man linked to in your other thread. You may learn a few things.

Gforce likes this.
  3. Rowa

Rowa Member

Thanks Westie, good to know those details. I will give the preference to the corner blocks.

4. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

Most important is to understand how to do a feasibility. Understand from the get go this is a very high risk proposition your embarking on.

wylie, thatbum and Archaon like this.
  5. Rowa