Just found this forum!

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Cloudz, 16th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Cloudz

Cloudz Member

Hi everyone!

I've been googling to get information on converting our PPOR to a IP after purchasing a new PPOR (settlement soon!), and I came across this forum.

I'm new to the IP scene so I'm hoping to learn from all you more experienced investors.

My wife and I live in the far northern suburbs of Perth with our young son and another on the way.

I have some specific questions which I'll post in the correct section (hopefully!) so looking forward to learning lots from the wealth of knowledge you all share.

Thanks and nice to meet you guys!

Cloudz

Propertunity, Simon Hampel and hobo like this.
  2. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

Welcome @Cloudz. One thing you could do now with your present PPOR before it becomes an IP is to stop making any payments of the Principal part of the loan (see your lender / broker if you can pay Interest Only) and don't redraw for personal expenses. You need to leave the debt at maximum for tax deductibility purposes when it becomes an IP.

3. Phantom

Phantom Well-Known Member

Hi Cloudz. Welcome to the forum! It's a great place to learn about all things property related. Ask away...……...:)

4. Indifference

Indifference Well-Known Member

Welcome @Cloudz You will find a wealth of information here & find many experienced investors to learn from.

As @Propertunity said, maximising your deductible versus nondeductible debt should be a key consideration in the circumstances.

Your scenario is why I advocate use of offset accounts for PPOR rather than additional principal payments because if you ever decide, like you have, to change PPOR, then you have cash on hand & can maximize deductible debt without issue.

Welcome to the forum!

5. Cloudz

Cloudz Member

Hi again and thank you for your messages :)