NSW Is Kellyville/Norwest a good area to buy

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Alec, 27th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Alec

Alec Member

Hello members,

I am a newbie and was trying to buy my first negatively geared investment property mainly for tax benefits. A friend of mine has recently bought a 3 BR townhouse in Kellyville; off the Norwest area. The area comes in Bella Vista public school catchment area and is near Fairway drive. The townhouses are newly built and ready to move in. Had a look at friend's property and the finishes are really nice and have Miele appliances and all. The price point is 760k. There is a really nice park Kellyville park also nearby.

I know I come across someone who is not sure about his goals etc. But does this sound like a good investment where I could make some capital gain in 2-3 years? The metro is coming soon in that area and the area has easy access to Windsor road as well.

Thank you

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

What ARE your goals? What is happening in 2-3 years?

Whats the rent? Lots of supply out there, vacancy rates? Thought about where sydney is in the cycle?

Btw wanting negative gearing because you pay too much tax, and your goal is to be rich are meaningless answers. Think harder.

Property Twins and Alec like this.
  3. Alec

Alec Member

The rental is about 550-650. I have spoken to a couple of agents that are active in the area, and they have assured that the property will be easily rentable. I know there is a decent supply there, but all the dwellings in that area are super-expensive. Like look at Essentia town Homes by Mulpha, they are selling them for around 1.3million mark. This dwelling I am talking about is only 1 km behind on Fairway drive.

I want to reduce my tax outgo and I am thinking that there would be decent capital gain there, given its Bella Vista School Catchment and a posh area.

4. Trainee