Is getting a depreciation schedule for a 100yo property worth it?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Adele, 10th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Adele

Adele Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I was wondering if anybody has any experience with getting a QS report for a 100ish yo property. I am considering getting one done as it has recently been repaired due to damage (internal damage, whole roof replacement). Will I be better off handing the invoices to my accountant or should I try and see if there are more things I can claim? The building is a well kept double-storey 240m store.

2. jaybean

jaybean Well-Known Member

Yes I still managed to get some great deductions. Age was maybe 100-115 years. Granted it had been renovated about 15 years ago so I think that made a big difference but I'm no expert in these things.

Last edited: 10th Mar, 2016
    Adele and WattleIdo like this.
  3. Big Daddy

Big Daddy Well-Known Member

If recently renovated (past 10 to 15 years) then yes. Else no,as everything has been depreciated to cost base of zero

Adele likes this.
  4. Depreciator

Depreciator Well-Known Member

So Adele, you have the costs of the recent work - roof replacement etc. If it's a recent purchase, there will still be depreciation in the appliances, HWS, floor coverings etc. Were there any other recent renos done by a previous owner?
    It's worth sending some photos to a QS and asking their opinion on whether it's worthwhile getting them involved. People send us photos every day.
    Scott

Adele and JacM like this.
  5. JacM

JacM VIC Buyer's Agent - Melbourne, Geelong, Ballarat Business Member

You can even depreciate rewiring. Chat to the depreciator folks on the phone and they will give you an idea of how much they can depreciate

6. BMT Tax Depreciation

BMT Tax Depreciation Chris Business Member