Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community

Iphone 4

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by Bayview, 23rd Oct, 2015.

  1. Bayview

    Bayview Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    22nd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,716
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    Hi boys and girls; just bought a second hand IPhone 4 for my son, received the new phone number and sim card for it and tried to set it up for him.

    It keeps on displaying a notice in the top left hand corner "No sim card".

    Is there any simple fix for this?

    Cheers, Bayview.
     
  2. geoffw

    geoffw Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    15th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,136
    Location:
    Canberra
    Have you activated the sim card with the provider?
     
  3. Bayview

    Bayview Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    22nd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,716
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    Yes, did that yesterday and tried it last night.
     
  4. geoffw

    geoffw Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    15th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,136
    Location:
    Canberra
    Does the sim card work with any other phone, or vice versa?

    Sorry, these are basic questions, and I won't be able to provide a diagnosis- but you will be asked those questions if you go anywhere else for help.
     
  5. Mumbai

    Mumbai Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    763
    Location:
    Sydney
    The phone might be network locked?
     
    Bayview likes this.
  6. House

    House Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    13th Sep, 2015
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Sydney
    Could take 24hrs to update in the carriers system but try Settings- General- Carrier and look for carrier settings update or you can choose Reset to reboot the settings.

    Other things that usually work are switching airplane mode on/off and then hard reset (hold down power and home button until Apple logo shows) or even ensuring the SIM card has been placed properly and there's no dust inside the SIM tray slot.

    Not sure with the 4 but try update to the latest iOS if you can
     
    The Y-man and Bayview like this.
  7. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,558
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    They have an iPhone 4?
     
  8. Bayview

    Bayview Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    22nd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,716
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    We've tried 2 other active sims, which work in a Samsung Galaxy S5, and the same result (No Sim) occurs when we tried both of those in the IPhone 4..
     
  9. Bayview

    Bayview Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    22nd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,716
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    Thanks for that info, will give it a try.

    The phone was recently purchased; so not looking to upgrade it yet....this phone is an upgrade!!:p
     
  10. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    Where did you buy it? Sounds like it's locked to a network. I think there's a fee to unlock them
     
  11. Bayview

    Bayview Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    22nd Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    2,716
    Location:
    Mornington Peninsula
    Cash converters...will go back there if no success via here or through the troubleshooter sites.
     
  12. bob shovel

    bob shovel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    5,381
    Location:
    Somewhere in the land of Oz
    Bayview likes this.
  13. House

    House Well-Known Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    13th Sep, 2015
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Sydney
    Haha no I meant update the software ;) iOS is the internal Operating System for Apple software.

    The 4 might be currently running iOS7 but could be updated to 8 or 9 (depending if it's the 'S' version) to help fix some bugs that may be causing the issue. But still think it's more a case of it not being read properly so fiddling about/reinserting should fix it.

    Plenty of websites online that will unlock it for a fraction of phone shops.
     
    Bayview likes this.