Investment stamp duty return?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Puppy Becky, 27th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Puppy Becky

Puppy Becky New Member

Hi everyone,
    It's my first time to post in this forum. I will appreciate if you give me some advices.
    I bought an IP in Perth area three years ago, paid investiment stamp duty about 14K.
    I live with friends somewhere else close work.
    Recently I'm thinking move into the IP, is it possible get the investment stamp duty back if I make this IP as my residence?

PS. for live-in, this house won't need any stamp duty cuz it's under 430k in WA

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Firstly, welcome to the forum.

Removed my rambling post because Ross Forrester below said it in three words. Gee I need to learn to edit myself :D:p.

Last edited: 27th Nov, 2016
    Marg4000, Ross Forrester and Blacky like this.
  3. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

No you cannot

Wukong and Terry_w like this.
  4. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Ross summed it up well.

Stamp duty is incurred on a change of ownership not it's use. Land tax may apply when a occupied residence (exempt use) becomes an investment property and the value of land owned exceeds the relevant threshold. Land tax is a state tax.

Ross Forrester and JacM like this.
  5. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

Sounds like Puppy Becky could have moved into it as a main residence immediately after settlement and avoided paying stamp duty, but put tenants into it for the first three years, and therefore paid stamp duty at an investment property rate (as it was).

Sound like she is now asking can she move into it as a main residence and get the stamp duty refunded.

That decision three years ago cannot be undone.