VIC Investment property , Clyde North or Tarneit ?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by ever_trust, 15th Aug, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ever_trust

ever_trust New Member

Hi ,
    I have been planning to buy an investment property over the past few months and finally got the Finance sorted. So far , I've found 2 good offers, in Tarneit and Clyde North.
    my budget for H&L will be $500k. Clyde North is about $25 k over.
    I thought Clyde north is a good suburb to invest , with good captain growth but the vacancy rate is over 3.80%, where as Tarneit is 1.83% . Rental yield is the same.

I am bit confused which one to choose ?
    Can someone suggest which one would be the good choice (Start up ), to grow a property portfolio ?

daKing likes this.
  2. Austin 316

Austin 316 Member

I am no expert by no means. Just about to settle my 1st IP in a couple of weeks.

Although I would like to know why you want to invest in H&L packages in Melbourne with current situation? I might be wrong but most of the advise I am getting suggests not to do this.

3. ever_trust

ever_trust New Member

Hi Austin,
    Well its not exactly H&L Package.. i am buying a block of Land privately and Building a house to rent it . The bank considers Rental as an income so it allows me to stretch my loan serviceability. I am hoping to hold my investment properties at least for the next 5 years and build a portfolio, with a mixture of Negatively geared and positive cash Flow properties.

4. ever_trust

ever_trust New Member

Where did you buy your IP ? are you building a house on your block ?
    I hope you didnt have any issues with Valuation.

5. Austin 316

Austin 316 Member

OK. Just adding my 2 cents though... you might not be able to get any CG on this property for the next 5 years so make sure your plan of building a portfolio doesn't factor using equity gains out of this IP.

6. Austin 316

Austin 316 Member

PM'd you.