How to quickly save for capital to finance first investment property

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Charmaine, 14th Apr, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Charmaine

Charmaine New Member

Hello beautiful people!

I am a newbie in the world of property investing with a very little knowledge. I work as a fulltime nurse with a couple other casual jobs and I am very keen to get into property investing. What would be other ways feasible aside from OPM to build a capital? Will note investing be a good idea, how can I get into this?

Thanks!

2. BuyersAgent

BuyersAgent Well-Known Member Business Member

Hi Charmaine,

If you are starting at the very beginning and don't want to use other people's money then the obvious path is to save hard. This working hard (it sounds like you are already doing this) - so then it means reducing your current income to the bare minimum. Can you move into a smaller place? Ditch the car and ride a bike? Or sell an expensive car and buy a cheap one for a few years? We nearly all started this way (except those who got an inheritance or gift) - I certainly started this way in my early 20's and it is a great way to learn the foundational truths about money.

In the meantime read on this forum, get a few good basic books (there are threads full of good book lists) from the library (free) or buy them if you wish but learn what you can for a year or 2 whilst saving hard and you will be ready to purchase something in time.

Otherwise, stealing medicine from the hospital and selling on black market could be quicker, but it might not end well...maybe forget that bit.

New Town likes this.
  3. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

Nurses are in demand! Do casual shifts at a number of hospitals and pick all the good shifts with best penalty rates. Eg 12 night hospitals on weekends and public holidays

You can earn great money as a nurse no point looking to other industries!