How to increase my borrowing capacity

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Judi, 10th Jun, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Judi

Judi Well-Known Member

Hi everyone.
    I am a newbie investor, and would want to increase my borrowing capacity.

I currently have my PPOR paid off without mortgage, worth say 800k conservatively, an investment property about 600k with 400k mortgage. Our combined salary is not high, is only about 100k pre tax. I am wondering is there any ways for me to keep my PPOR and maybe borrowing against the property?

Our mortgage broker said to take out a loan, we need to have both cash flow and equity, cash flow being the salary, and equity is the house. We want to borrow another 800k, is that doable ?

2. Redom

Redom Mortgage Broker Business Plus Member

Hi Judi,

You will need to run the numbers based on your income and expenses. To release equity, you will need to show the bank that you can repay any equity release debt. The deposit/equity availability isn't the issue here given the large owner occupier thats paid off. Your mortgage broker who has a thorough view of your situation and numbers should be able to model this out for you to determine your maximum equity release figure.

As a guide, to release 80% of 800k - $640k against your owner occupier for investment use, you will need to show income to service that additional debt.

If you are able to do this, its also important for your broker to work out exactly how you can continue borrowing with the equity release. It may make sense to use the equity release as deposits for further investments, which may require additional debt. There are strategic ways to maximise and extend your overall borrowing capacity here - e.g. utilising the right mix of lenders in an ordered manner.