How much profit will a developer want before he says yes to the project?

Discussion in 'Development' started by LoanSharkJR, 25th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. LoanSharkJR

LoanSharkJR Well-Known Member

I have the unenviable task of costing a development project for my father. He has a 1350sqm block 30m x 45m and I am trying to estimate how much profit each dwelling will realise when sold.

We need to do this as a JV, as my dad has no way to get this finance on his meager super (he is 73 years old). He would like to keep TWO Single story dwellings for himself.

Here is what I have come up with so far, bare in mind I am a COMPLETE novice:

1.The no of dwellings I think will fit is 6 (mix of ss and ds)
    2.The block has a mish-mash of hoarders rubbish, giant shed made of asbestos, rundown 2br house with bungalow = expensive demolition.
    3.My estimate is based on a fictional 819sqm total building area, and $1500/sqm cost guide leading to a whopping $1228500 plus the addition of:

Subdividing 6 allotments $30k
    Bulldozing $30k
    Plans/Permits $60k
    Services: Gas, Elec, Water $30k

So, in addition to the construction costs, I have to factor in a further $150k, grand total $1,378,500.

Now this block is in Croydon VIC, walking distance from main St, trains, bus stop literally at the doorstep, 5 mins from Eastlands shopping centre and Eastlink Tollway.

I have to figure out how much the developer wants to make on each unit for them to go ahead with it. After all, the cost is quite a nip in the pants. Also how long would all this take to build?
    I also presume it will need a strata title and costs involved with that?

Many thanks for all your helpful comments.

2. Tonibell

Tonibell Well-Known Member

Step one in an exercise like this is to have a Town Planner tell you what you can do on the lot. This is not too expensive and is the basis for everything else you want to know.