How much are plans and approval worth?

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by MondeoMan, 5th Jan, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. MondeoMan

MondeoMan Well-Known Member

I have come across a house that is in Geelong, so some growth but not crazy, purchased by owner in Nov 2015, they got plans and permission for 2 townhouses (unsure if it includes keeping original house and building outback) and are now selling for 100,000 more.. with no work done to main house. Normal growth in area would only have added 20,000 at most.

Is this normal? or someone who is trying to make all their money without doing the work? Seems pricy to me but I have no experience

2. melbournian

melbournian Well-Known Member

Permits and plans itself cost money as well and the time and effort to get them to organize. 100K is not a lot if you ask me there are other suburbs where it can command 200-400K alone.

3. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

Without doing the work, what do you mean?

I just sold DA (3 townhouses) in Croydon, Melb with plans and permits and spent months negotiating with council and employing the professionals to work on my behalf. Yes, its not building, less risk and time but they are in demand if it ticks the boxes.

No point buying a property with DA approval unless you can make money from the end product.

There will be a set price for lot/block dependent on the area, this information can be sourced via a re agent, anyone worth his/her salt will be able to tell you what the going rate is.
    In the main it will be builders buying as they continue building and require projects and it can take significant time/risk for builder trying to put together a DA. They can also build cheaper than a developer.

Generally speaking the more lots you can develop the more money you will make.