Hot Water System Battle

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Brizal, 27th Apr, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Brizal

    Brizal Member

    Joined:
    27th Apr, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Pakenham, Victoria
    Hi all,

    First time poster, so hi all.

    We currently have an old Solahart BlackChrome XII solar hot water system with gas booster, which has been playing up (luke warm water at best). I have tried to get someone to look at it, but no luck. So we are looking at a Continuous Flow Hot Water System, but unsure if we should keep the old unit or throw it in hard rubbish?
     
  2. Scott No Mates

    Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    20,293
    Location:
    Sydney or NSW or Australia
    What about installing a new solar system?
     
  3. Brizal

    Brizal Member

    Joined:
    27th Apr, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Pakenham, Victoria
    Was thinking it from a cost perspective, currently havent been able to find anyone who can identify the issue with the current unit, so for a whole new unit vs a new Continuous Flow Hot Water System. I also like the fact the Continuous Flow Hot Water System only use gas on demand.
     
  4. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    8,911
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Pretty big call!

    The Y-man

    [​IMG]
     
    wylie likes this.
  5. The Y-man

    The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    8,911
    Location:
    Melbourne

    Talk to a friendly plumber.
    When our old HWS gave up, we asked the same thing - the plumber said it wouldn't be economically viable as they would need to put a high volume gas line between the mains and the unit. Existing gas lines for most houses with old units are too narrow.

    The Y-man
     
    wylie and shorty like this.
  6. Brizal

    Brizal Member

    Joined:
    27th Apr, 2020
    Posts:
    5
    Location:
    Pakenham, Victoria
    Thanks for the input, and thats a great point, a plumber was meant to come out recently, but didnt show up.
     
  7. wylie

    wylie Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    18th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    10,095
    Location:
    Brisbane
    We wanted instant gas on two houses we had to lift. We were told by the gas supplier the lines in the street didn't give enough pressure for instant. I'm not sure I believe them, as there would be instant systems in the street already, but I wasn't going to go ahead and take the risk.

    Perhaps give whoever manages the gas in the area a call and ask whether you can even think about gas instant?
     
  8. shorty

    shorty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    24th Jun, 2015
    Posts:
    692
    Location:
    straya
    Yep instant needs minimum 3/4" supply lines iirc