Hi newbie from Brisbane

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Moggy74, 6th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Moggy74

Moggy74 Member

hi ,
    I'm a total newbie . I have been stalking the threads , most sections for the past couple of months. I have read about 6 books in the last 3 weeks recommended by all the regular investors. I have always been interested in property but am a huge procrastinator and over analyse everything.
    I am going to take the plunge now but the one thing I don't fully get is how can I tell if the market is flat, rising or at the top ?? I understand I should buy in a rising market , any help or insight would be appreciated .
    Cheers

Alissa and Bryan Loughnan like this.
  2. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

My take is, the market at the top shows low rental yields. E.g. Sydney had rental yields of 7% and now the same properties are around 4-4.5% return..

Melbourne has been a different kettle of fish with the low rental yields being the norm...

Brisbane on the other hand [depending on where you buy] still offers 6% plus returns - and diminishing. When the rental yields are dropping due to price increases, you know it's a rising market......and when the rental yields just can't be justified, you know the boat has sailed.

3. Moggy74

Moggy74 Member

Makes senses , thanks so much , so Brisbane is in a rising market and I should jump in

Property Twins likes this.
  4. Property Twins

Property Twins Mortgage Brokers & Buyers Agents Business Member

Research of course. No body has a crystal ball :). But given a bulk of the forum is buying there............and some in Adelaide - so both seem plausible

Moggy74 likes this.
  5. HUGH72

HUGH72 Well-Known Member