Hi, Beyond Wealth here

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Beyond Wealth, 19th Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Beyond Wealth

Beyond Wealth Well-Known Member

Hi,

I’m Beyond Wealth. The point of this post is a quick intro, to give a bit of information and learnings to newer investors, and for me to use as a reflection / accountability post in the future. I read something years ago about how humans tend to overestimate what we can do in a short period, but greatly underestimate what we can do over the long term. I hope to do so with my own investment goals.

I have been investing in property since 2007 and currently hold a $2mil gross portfolio spread across Melb / Syd / Bris. My investing strategy includes resi property for capital growth and some rental income, plus shares (yield focus), superannuation and some cash. My goal is as follows:

By June 2024, obtain a passive income through investments of $50,000 per annum.

In addition to this income stream I should have a good amount of equity in investment capital (real estate and shares) which I could borrow against / sell if I needed additional funds. However I’m hoping I won’t have to do this.

My property strategy so far has been to buy units in historically high growth suburbs, close to the median unit price for the suburb, that are in reasonable condition but have potential for some future renovation and value add. They should be in good positions, close (but not too close) to train stations, shops, transportation, but in quiet streets.