Help! Sound blocking noise from Ceiling on Existing Apartment

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Lameve, 28th Oct, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Lameve

Lameve New Member

Hi all, newbie here..Been looking for a forum about property renovation and finally found it.

I'm thinking to do some renovation to soundproof my unit's ceiling, apparently the soundproof between floors are not that great, especially with the tenants above walking with a power of giant, throw things to floor and make scratches noise from furniture.

Therefore, i'm just gathering some ideas how I can have a better soundproof ceiling..

I approached one company and they quoted me around $3,5k+gst just to do the work for a 10sqm area - which I can't really afford to spend this much..

Does anyone ever experience the same situation here? I'm desperate for some ideas and maybe some people renovate their unit's ceiling with a reputable builder that comes with affordable cost?

Really appreciate some help here!

Ps: Tried couple of times talking to the tenants upstairs but they gave negative reaction toward me. But honestly, the ceiling itself doesn't have great soundproofing anyway, so really can't blame them much too!

2. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

What is the floor (ie your ceiling made of)? Eg concrete or timber

Any treatment of the ceiling will impinge on ceiling height, you must maintain 2.4m for any habitable room (lounge, bedrooms, study etc).

Has the upstairs owner changed flooring without consent of body corporate or not installed an acoustic underlay under a new timber floating floor? You might address this with body corporate.

Lameve likes this.
  3. Lameve

Lameve New Member

It's a timber floor, i think that's why when things got dropped to the floor the sound can be really loud.