Hello! SMSF investing enquiry and media request

Discussion in 'Superannuation, SMSF & Personal Insurance' started by RuthC, 5th May, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. RuthC

RuthC Member

Hello!

Hope everyone's well -- I'm hoping posting this is permitted (admins, please let me know if there are any issues/if post needs to be moved or modified). My name is Ruth and I'm a journalist with Bloomberg News in Singapore.

I'm working on a news story about how SMSF investors have navigated investing amid the pandemic. As most are aware, it's been a bit of a rollercoaster ride with markets since last March -- bond yields are still hovering at ultra-low levels, and stocks have become very expensive.

I'm keen to speak with SMSF investors (accumulators, retirees) about their experience, and whether they've had to tweak their strategies to make their investments work for them in today's market. If you're open to have this chat and be featured in a news article, could you please get in touch with me?

Many thanks for reading, everyone!

Best wishes,
    Ruth

2. Ruby Tuesday

Ruby Tuesday Well-Known Member

No, didnt alter strategy I invest with a 5 year time frame in mind if great companies drop in that time it gives opportunity. I just got my SMSF report from my account today. Netted 18% in the FY to June 2020. and had 30% gain since. Reduced some overweight position by up to 18% as per normal between August 2020 and Dec 2020 and redirected funds into up coming growth stocks and Lakehouse Capital managed Funds. My accountant told me 10 - 11%% returns was common for his better performing clients. The ones using financial advisors performed poorly. He said said they took a clip just for telling clients to put funds in mediocre ETF's. One Client paid a financial advisor $18k and only made $11k themself.

3. RuthC

RuthC Member

Thank you for the comprehensive response, Ruby! I'll drop you a private message as well. Cheers.