Hello from Perth

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Username86, 1st Jun, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Username86

Username86 Well-Known Member

Hi everyone. I have been reading this forum religiously for about 2 weeks now. Lots of great information available here.

We currently own 2 IP’s and rent near where I am studying. One property I am really happy with, a 2 bed 2 bath unit in Herston QLD and another unit in Broome WA that started as a PPOR that we decided to keep before moving to Perth. Since renting the unit in Broome rents and values have been falling with periods of extended vacancy. We have long known that this property needs to go but due to the loan being about 80k above what we would expect to sell for we are not sure what the best exit strategy is. These are the options we have come up with.

1. Save/Repay loan until debt is less than sale price.

2. Sell now and take on a personal loan

3. Sell both properties, and still probably have some outstanding debt.

4. Continue with our investing journey until such time we have enough equity to cover the difference then sell.
    Currently serviceability is not very good while I study but when I finish around October I should have substantial excess income to help achieve our goals.

Would love to hear everyone’s thoughts on our situation. Feel free to PM if you wish.

This has been very costly lesson for us but we are still very optimistic about investing in property, for our next purchase we are considering a PPOR with renovation potential so we can earn some sweat equity to help us to continue to invest. Thanks everyone for the great info and I look forward to your responses.

2. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Hey @Username86 , welcome aboard.
    At least you can recognise that it's a lesson, albeit an expensive one.
    Hopefully there's someone here who can give you some advice.

3. Username86

Thanks Azazel.

4. bob shovel