Guarantor Loans and LVR

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Barkly, 16th Mar, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Barkly

Barkly Member

Hi All,

First time poster just looking for a few different views out there. I am a young professional in the early stages of my career and looking to get into the property investment market, however I currently do not have a deposit as I am in the early stages of my career. I am looking at borrowing 100-105% LVR, which I have been informed is still an opportunity provided 20-25% is secured against one of my parents properties. I have run substantial calculations and expect to have the capacity to release the guarantee between 2-4 years, presuming a reasonably conservative growth of 2-4%. However I wish to jump in without the deposit as I anticipate the market I am jumping into to grow much faster then that (and at a rate faster then I can save!).

With the know how this type of loan will be assessed when applying the new 'risk' based pricing of interest rates? Will I receive a higher rate due to the 100-105% LVR borrowings? Or will the effective 20-25% security put me at an effective LVR of 80%? Or is it likely to land somewhere in between?

Any help here would be appreciated.

Cheers!

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

It will only be 105% compared to your property, but overall it will be lower LVR because of the second security. Rate should be the same as 80% LVR.

Simon Moore likes this.
  3. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

You're essentially looking at a family guarantee, so 80% would be secured against your property, the remaining 25% would be secure by the family members property. Assuming they don't have a singificnatly debt over their property, the LVR there would be quite small - ideally it would be below 50% to keep most lenders happy.