GST on a build and hold residential investment property

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by dernii, 16th Jul, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. dernii

dernii New Member

Hi All

I am a builder/developer just starting out and am currently in the process of developing a dual occupancy dwelling, the dwelling will not be sold and will be rented out.
    during the next 12 months I will incur many cost for the development/construction which mostly will include GST. Approx 500k build so say 50k of that is GST
    The property will not create any income until completion once rented. And still will not have GST as this is residential rent.
    How is the 50k GST treated?
    Can i claim the GST ?
    will this be paid back by the ATO or just sit with the ATO as a credit?

Note the property is owned by a trust.

2. Blacky

Blacky Well-Known Member

I think you are mistaken. A trust can’t own a property.

Is the owner registered for GST?

I would imagine, given the details provided, the GST would be added to the capital base, however, specific advice would be required.

Tony

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

For tax purposes a trust is considered an entity - this is why people think it can own a property.

dernii you wouldn't be able to claim the GST.

4. Connor

Connor Well-Known Member

Even though you're a builder/developer, building to rent you won't be able to claim GST.
    Building to sell though, trading as a business, you'll be able to claim GST but will also have to account for it on sale of the property.

GST takes a nice chunk of your development profits :/

Beano likes this.
  5. dernii

dernii New Member

Yes, Sorry my mistake, the property will be owned by a company and held in a trust.

6. dernii

dernii New Member

Yes GST is a chunk, As long as we are aware of it its ok though!