Granny Flat returns VS share investment

Discussion in 'Granny Flats' started by JonnyR, 12th Feb, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. JonnyR

JonnyR Member

Hi all,

I am looking at a granny flat from an investment perspective.

The below table shows the calculations on the left of the shares investment at a 5% annual return, compounding and the granny flat calculations on the right over a 15 year period.

The following assumptions:
    1) No loan interest applied
    2) Tax on income has not been factored
    3) Depreciation benefits has not been factored
    4) Repairs and maintenance have not been factored
    5) Share income may be more that 5%
    6) Rental income may be more than the projected figures

At the end of the period it appears that we would be better off by $52,810 with the granny flat option over the shares option.

I am a bit of a novice when it comes to things like this so I would appreciate any feedback as to if my calculations are correct or if I have missed anything fundamental.

Any and all feedback would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

JR

upload_2022-2-12_13-38-43.png

2. MB18

MB18 Well-Known Member

I think you are trying to compare apples with oranges but anyway:
    Shares are measured by total return rather than income as whether the returns come from capital appreciation or income depends on the payout policy of your holdings.

The general rule of thumb for the ASX is a 9% total return.
    Compound 9% for your calcs. The transaction costs are negligible for shares so the income to capital growth trade off is less important.

Id also consider tax as the franking benefits of Australian shares can make a reasonable difference to your calcs too.

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Why not include these?

a) where is money coming from to fund it?

The Y-man likes this.
  4. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member