Granny Flat Question For Secondary Dwelling

Discussion in 'Granny Flats' started by Sheep112, 24th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sheep112

Sheep112 Well-Known Member

Hi Experts

Quick question.
    My granny flat has been completed in Sydney recently and i have to Occupation Certificate.
    I rang the council and was told all they do now is order the bins and the council rate will be on the one bill along with the front house (just abit higher in cost).
    Is this correct? Dont do update the address with Australia Post or a separate council bill?
    Please let me now what else I need to do....thank you in advanced.
    I am new to the granny flat game...

2. Archaon

Archaon Well-Known Member

A granny flat doesn't have seperate council rates, so you order a second service on the existing rates, i'm not sure how apportionment goes @Terry_w @Paul@PFI @euro73

3. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Correct. Typically almost all costs are apportioned other than those specifically identifiable as 100% related to the GF rent eg PM fees, GF construction loan, LL insurance etc. All other costs eg rates, original land etc need be be apportioned based on a reasonable basis (area ?) and time too. For the original property loan interest a valuation may be needed to split the original costs into two elements. Rates maybe area based etc

4. Sheep112

So how do I update the address with Australia post?

5. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

Lodge the application via the auspost website. Bung in a mailbox and put a number on it.

What have you done for the following:
    • NBN cabling
    • Water (submeters are on longer acceptable in NSW)
    • Power
    • Gas

6. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Did you get assigned a new street address from the council?

7. Sheep112

Hi