Garden lighting

Discussion in 'Landscaping' started by Clean Cookie, 15th Apr, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Clean Cookie

Clean Cookie Well-Known Member

Good day!

We're about to settle on our new property and I'm doing a few value adds to the place at cost of materials, like ducted AC, total cost will be around 2k. (Sparky by trade)

Anyway at the front of the property we have a short 6m driveway and carport sized concrete area, with a path from there up to front stairs.

Alternative path from street through some small trees to the front door.

Currently zero lighting.

If it were my PPOR I would want to put a few garden lights under the trees to illuminate the path and increase street appeal

Add a security spot on sensor for car parking area.

Both of these options are $150-300 total.

Not heaps of money. But my partner and others have made a fair point: will that add value or just add to the list of things I need to maintain.

At some point doing heaps of landscaping and making exteriors come alive with lighting is worth something, but this is a 600k house in an outer suburb of Brisbane.

I am chasing absolute premium rent for the area with a fully renovated house but there's a point of diminishing returns.

Has anyone got some real life experience? On my own place we have 40m of digital led strip around the deck/eves which I can program in any arrangement I like and that's been a fun project and absolutely useless unless you love Christmas light displays as much as we do!

Redwing likes this.
  2. 14022

14022 Member