Garage conversion to room

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by IIIusion, 27th Jul, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. IIIusion

IIIusion Well-Known Member

Hi All, I used to have extremely helpful and friendly answers on this forum. Therefore I will annoy you with one more question which I am desperately trying to resolve.

Short story: My younger brother died oversees :-( and I am the only descendant. So I've brought my parents to Australia (legally of course, paid 110.000$) and now I need to provide some accommodation for them. We need one bedroom and one bathroom for them even in our own house.
    3 options are available:
    1. Granny flat approximately for 100k
    2. House extension approximately for 100k
    3. Garage conversion - price ?
    Unfortunately after 110k rip-off I don't have any serious money and after careful consideration we decided to investigate 3rd option.
    I am completely new to that business and I've opened few web-sites and found some rough cost estimates for example: Approval Pricing & Process Sydney NSW | Garage Conversion | Garage Conversion - 8380$
    This looks to me as extremely expensive fee just for approval. Am I right? Or this is common price and I should suck it?
    Can someone recommend me any proper way to approach this problem or recommend proper builder to deal with in Western Sydney? I am really scared by all this stories about dodgy builders.
    I would really appreciate any help and any way to reduce the total amount. Thank you very much in advance.

2. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member

To use a garage as a room should not be too hard, it is when you start doing plumbing and bathroom work that your going to need the council approvals etc.

Can they use the bathroom in the house ?