First timer weighing up the options

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Spoony, 27th Sep, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Spoony

Spoony Well-Known Member

I'm a noob and possible first time property investor, looking at using the approx $100k (based on 80% LVR) of equity I have in my PPOR to get into an IP. I'm based south of Brisbane.

I've been reading various sources, blogs, PC and listening to 'The Property Couch' podcasts (most of the way through them all) and certainly know way more in this space than only a month or two ago.

As my income is quite average (72k pa) cashflow isn't huge so reasonable yields would be required.

The Property Couch blokes seem to love closer to the city and really look for growth growth, however with my funds/cashflow something that that would net maybe a 2 bed unit, with limited yields. Seems an oversupply of unit's is happening in Brisbane too, so would purchasing only in a small 6-8 unit complex mitigate much of the negative effect this would have?

Alternatively I could look for a cheaper house further out with better yields, though growth will be likely poorer.

Or a larger property further out with a dual living type setup, or potential to modify and set this up, so as to net maximum rental be a good initial first step? initial work adding rental appeal/value, capital gains and deprecation straight up in this example

I'm curious to hear anyone starting or who has started out in a similar position and the path taken.

I've also got my reservations as to now being a good time too, as for many markets it appears growth is going to be minimal over the coming years. The fear factor has one thinking just pay down the PPOR at the moment, but then the FOMO factor says why wait.

2. Brady

Brady Well-Known Member

Are you set on buying in QLD?
    Have you extracted the $100k already?
    Have you spoken to your banker/broker about how much you can borrow?