First Time IP Buyer

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by Sandro, 25th Dec, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sandro

Sandro Member

Hi all,

I'm 23 currently making 40k and have the opportunity to buy my first unit as an IP in Edmonson Park. We are looking at a 3 bedroom unit, 2 car spaces, 2 bathrooms for 700k. The only reason I have this opportunity is that my mother (who already has a unit as an IP in St Kilda, Melbourne) is helping me with the deposit and all ill have to do is pay the additional costs like Water, Strata, Council, etc etc. I have been tirelessly researching the area's demographics and opportunities in regards to employment and it seems like a good place to invest in. In saying that though I am brand new to all of this and would love to hear what others have to say about that area and any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Honest opinion? This is a bad deal for everyone. Do some more research. New 3 bed unit that far out is a bad idea. You can't even afford the mortgage. Do you expect your financial situation to change in the near future (e.g. in a job where you can expect a significant pay rise)? Otherwise this is just going to drag your mother with you.

Last edited: 25th Dec, 2020
  3. Sandro

Sandro Member

We will be renting it out so the mortgage cost will be covered by the tenant

4. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

The rent covers all the expenses? Surely not. What deposit do you have?

5. Trainee

6. Sandro

Sandro Member

Yes, apart from start up costs like stamp duty, inspections, insurance and a property manager. The rent covers everything we only need to pay water, strata, council and damages/fixes to the property if any left by our tenant. Our deposit is 5% of the property

7. Sandro

Sandro Member