First time home buyer - PPOR to IP strategy, thoughts?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by CharlieD, 5th Aug, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. CharlieD

CharlieD Member

Hi all,

My partner and I are first time home buyers, currently contemplating a purchase. I am very keen to effectively structure the purchase from the outset. Rather than asking broad questions - I have determined an approach which is applicable to our current situation (and likely similar to many others on here). All input is appreciated - noting I am new to the structuring aspect so some of my assumptions may be naïve.

Our intentions are as follows:
    1. Purchase a property for $650k as joint tenants (which as a first time buyer will attract minimal stamp duty of ~$11k).
      1. Proposing to fund the purchase with an interest only loan with an offset facility.
      2. LVR of 80%-90% depending on borrowing capacity and subject to further research.
    2. Place remaining funds (if any) in offset account.
    3. Live in this property as our PPOR for approx. 1 year to satisfy stamp duty exemption requirements.
    4. Convert to an investment property and rent out - rental income should be approx. equivalent to interest payment at current rates (prior to expenses so will be negatively geared).
    5. Rent where we actually want to live - during this period we would be saving for a purchase of the next PPOR (potentially 2 years).
    6. Withdraw offset and combine with savings to purchase next PPOR under (potentially) the same strategy depending on market conditions.
    Benefits
    • Stamp duty savings
    • Full deductibility of interest as IP
    • Offset reduces non-deductible interest during PPOR period
    • Access to cap appreciation and subsequent ability to (hopefully) access equity
    • Will facilitate quicker expansion of property portfolio
    Drawbacks