First home buyer: House or unit?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by kartonator, 1st Sep, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. kartonator

kartonator Member

Hello everyone,

I am new to PropertyChat and have been going through a lot of older posts which are rich in information. Just had a few questions about a situation. Any suggestions, opinion, advice will be much appreciated!

I am a first home buyer looking to put my first step on the property investment ladder. I live in brisbane and would like to buy something here first to start so that I can use it as my PPOR and rent out the spare rooms to help with my mortgage.

My max borrowing capacity (after talking to a mortgage broker) is 500k.

I am looking for a property with at least 2 Bedrooms,2 baths and single garage.

Earlier my strategy was to go for a unit in one of the inner city suburbs (like south bank, west-end maybe?!, Spring hill, bowen hills, new farm etc) so that I can stay there rent out the spare room and it would be very convenient as I work in the city. From the research I have done, it looks like there is quite a lot of demand to rent places in the inner city suburbs so it should be easy enough to rent.

However after I spoke with the mortgage broker, he suggested considering getting a house with some land in it so that the property experiences good growth in the coming years, however since I have a lower budget, I might only be able to afford a house in suburbs like Arana hills, Ferny hills Ferny grove etc. Which will put me in a situation where I would have to travel about an hour (one way) to get to work.

I am ok to go through the short term inconvenience of travelling 2 hours everyday (both ways) for work but I am not sure if it is really the right way to go.. Here are my questions:
    • Is is worth buying a house that far and will it grow in the next 5-7 years?
    • Would it be hard to find people to rent so far away from the city?