VIC First Home Buyer - Established or OTP?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by June, 1st Apr, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. June

June New Member

First off, just wanted to say thank you to all contributors on this forum, your opinion and advices are very helpful especially to newbies like me!

Tbh I'm very new to this whole property thing and didn't even know where to start or what I should be looking at, so please excuse me if I ask some silly questions.

Okay, so my budget is ideally under $400k and I've been looking at some of the areas below,

- Ardeer, Albion, Deer Park (old side): older established homes, 3 bedrooms with blocks of at least 600m2+ (I have no clue when it comes to development or subdivisions etc but I guess we'll get to that down the track) I've seen some under the $400k mark!
    - Moonee Ponds, Footscray, Bundoora (near La Trobe Uni), Coburg: 1-2 bedroom apartment in a smaller complex, not interested in something like the 'Riverside' currently being built in Footscray. Some similar to the below maybe?

101/250 Barkly Street, Footscray VIC 3011 - Apartment for Sale - 2012660551
    90 Buckley Street, Footscray VIC 3011 - Apartment For Sale - 2012397766
    350 Ascot Vale Road, Moonee Ponds VIC 3039 - Apartment For Sale - 2012412174

I'd like to rent it out and then hopefully the property would've had some decent growth in order for me to use the equity to purchase my second.

Should I be looking at OTP to take advantage of the stamp duty savings or is it not really that worth it considering land has better growth. Which should I start my portfolio with? Yield vs Growth? What do you think of those areas?

2. ashish1137

ashish1137 Well-Known Member

I'd say you target both equity and cash flow and look at some upcoming areas in geelong. Good rentals, good demand, lot of options.

Regards

3. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member

I always buy pre-loved after being burned by OTP.