Equity vs Servicability

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Damarcus11, 26th Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Damarcus11

Damarcus11 Well-Known Member

I noticed a discussion about multiple cheap vs single expensive property. In my situation I am a single income teacher, with no real prospects of a significant income increase. I currently own an investment property in Brisbane with 300k equity ($400 cashflow positive a month) and and am deciding my next move.

Initially I wanted to target high growth assets, thinking I could use equity to fund my next purchase. However, I'll find myself reaching my Servicability ceiling very quickly, even if I have huge growth.

Would I be better off targeting higher yield properties: town houses, apartments and non major citiy houses that wouldn't impact my Servicability as much. In order to grow my portfolio, which path would be more beneficial considering my moderate income?

2. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Equity is the equivalent of the bank having security against their loan if something goes wrong. It doesn't make the payments for the loan.

Serviceability is the analysis that your income is high enough to support your expenses.

Both are components in qualifying for a loan, but they are different and one can't substitute the other.

You've asked the question which strategy would be, "More beneficial considering my moderate income?" The answer is the strategy that increases your income.

The problem with cheaper higher yielding properties is they don't really increase in rent over time. These properties are often in lower socio economic locations where many are in low income employment or government benefits. Their incomes don't increase much, so the rents also stagnate (along with house prices).