Entry level invest property in Adelaide or Brisbane?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Chris93, 13th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Chris93

Chris93 Member

Hi guys looking for people's personal opinions on wether they would purchase an entry level investment property (270k-300k) in ether Adelaide or Brisbane. I'm based in Melbourne and don't believe there to be any investment worthy stock at this price point hence why looking interstate. A free standing house within 30kms of cbd that is cash flow positive/neutral would be my main focus as I'm still studying and although would have a cash buffer in place, would prefer somthing that didn't cost money to hold. I have done alot of research of my own, just curious on other people's options! Cheers Chris .

2. CryptoClown

CryptoClown Well-Known Member

Since you are starting out I'd look for something that you can add value or split at some point. Brisbane around Ipswich or Moreton Bay would be my pick. Adelaide is more of a cashflow play in my opinion. Cashflow doesn't help in the early days but equity certainly does.

3. R S Gumby

R S Gumby Well-Known Member

I bought in Paralowie which is North part of Adelaide a couple of years ago for the price you are looking at paying. It's neutral/positive with some growth and no problem finding good tenants. It's a steady play, not fantastic but slowly appreciating in price

4. Chris93

Chris93 Member

Hi thanks for your input! Was also thinking that those areas in qld would most likely be growing at a faster rate then Adelaide which would be a slow and steady sort of play. IV been looking around the Goodna area which looks like an affordable and nice growth area my old concern would be to buy in a flood prone area.

5. Chris93

Chris93 Member