Engineering plans - Should I be annoyed? What can I do?

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Hodor, 20th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Hodor

Hodor Well-Known Member

I have just received some engineering plans for a garage and decks project. Please excuse any errors in terminology as I have no background in building etc.

The plans given to the engineer state things like "standard construction timber frame" and to "AS 1684". I did indicate verbally that I was looking for a basic construction, the plans are the only written indication of wanting standard construction however.
    I've spoken with my builder and the engineering plans received ask for thick hardwood timber for the entire construction, anything but "standard" in his opinion and add significant cost. My builder queried some of this with the engineer who said yes standard treated pine would be suitable (or thinner hardwood) which resolves some issues - but why would the engineer use thicker more expensive materials for "standard timber construction"? Still trying to establish why the engineer wants a concrete slab under the second deck as he is now away.

Also I was told "Your plans have been completed" (in email) and will be released once they received payment in full, which I promptly made. Only the deck plans were ready and the garage is listed as "stage 2" even though it is one project (one deck meets the garage).

How would you proceed?

2. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

I know quite often engineering can be 'over engineered' for often no good reason, adding unnecessary cost. It's why I like to engage engineers who work closely with my builder if possible.