Do I need a new accountant?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Northboy, 10th Sep, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Northboy

Northboy Well-Known Member

I have been using my current account for around the last 20 years, which is the main reason I haven't really considered changing from him. He has never been interested in providing too much tax advice, and just wants to rip through the return. I've only had one known issue with my returns completed through him in the past, when the ATO wrote asking for an explainer about a share related gain (can't remember the exact details). Apparently he had entered the amount in the wrong area - the ATO just said to be careful with that in future.

It has become more difficult now that I no longer go in and see him - we just email each other when it comes to putting the return together. He gives me property schedules to fill out for the income and expenses for each of my three investment properties, and I send him a few emails - one for property, one for shares etc., one for other stuff, with various attachments and notes as needed. I often ask a couple of questions when I send the emails through, but he rarely responds to these. And this year I found a number of discrepancies when he sent me back the draft return to view and sign.