Development profit margin example

Discussion in 'Development' started by HappyCamper, 19th Apr, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. HappyCamper

HappyCamper Well-Known Member

Complete development newbie here, but have been around the property game for a while now.

Can someone help me reverse engineer this development and work out a ballpark profit? Would this be considered a mid to high spec build? Anyone care to estimate what the build cost would have been? Assume 15% market growth in that 13 months.

6A / 6B Harley Street Sylvania NSW

Bought Feb 2020 $1.375m
    6 Harley Street, Sylvania | Property History & Address Research | Domain

Sold March/April 2021 $1.8m x 2 - $3.6m
    Sold 6A Harley Street, Sylvania NSW 2224 on 13 Apr 2021 - 2016910820 | Domain
    Sold 6B Harley Street, Sylvania NSW 2224 on 26 Mar 2021 - 2016828825 | Domain

2. Kr@mer

Kr@mer Well-Known Member

Looks like there timing was impeccable
    But I would assume
    Acquisition costs including taxes 1.45
    Build costs approx 1.2-1.3 minimum double brick construction heavy build although didn’t have a pool
    Interest and holding cost at least 50k
    Agents costs 40-50k
    Add GST on the sale of both as sold as new
    Add CGT....
    Still a pretty good result, but benefited significantly by the upside of the market. I also went through these and viewed.
    Are you building or looking in the area to do something similar?

HappyCamper likes this.
  3. HappyCamper

HappyCamper Well-Known Member

Thanks for the reply. So about $450k before CGT. But have benefited from the market lifting 15% also.

I’m looking for a PPOR in the Shire and came across a duplex block so was curious whether the numbers stack up or if I should not worry about it and let my IPs just do their thing over time and concentrate on my day job.

Last edited: 20th Apr, 2021
  4. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member