Developing negotiation skills

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by Cousinit, 10th Nov, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Cousinit

Cousinit Well-Known Member

After recently reading 'Property Investors Guide To Negotiating' I'm thinking of putting time into developing negotiating skills . Perhaps buying one of the board games available ?

Anyone have any tips etc ?

2. David Thiu

David Thiu Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert on negotiation, but I think it comes down to trying to find a WIN-WIN scenario for all parties, and this often involves trying to put yourself in the shoes of the other person, and finding out what their needs and motivation are. Usually most people are solely focused on 'Price', but you can also negotiate on 'Terms' e.g. early access to a property, longer settlement...

MTR and Sackie like this.
  3. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

I personally believe its very important. Some people naturally are better negotiators and 'wheelers and deals' than others, but I believe a lot of it can be developed. And of course experience is your best friend. The other thing to understand is that the better you are able to build relationships in this industry, the better your negotiations will be heard with a positive outcome. If you really wanted to take it to another level and can be bothered, many master negotiators i have read about are also experts in NLP. Some negotiation books I have studied and made notes from:

Secrets of Power Negotiating - inside secrets from master negotiator
    by Roger Dawson

Negotiating Secrets, by David Brown

A property investor's guide to negotiating, by John Potter

The negotiation book, By Stave Gates

Trump Style negotiation, by George Ross