Developing in Perths flat market...

Discussion in 'Development' started by Matt Ad, 14th Jun, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Matt Ad

Matt Ad Well-Known Member

Ok, so I'm a beginner developer, and as the property market in Perth isn't flaming hot, I have some concerns.

Iv done a profitable feasibility, and have gone as far as making an offer on a property in Balga with intentions of building three smaller town houses. Iv been getting all the ducks lined up but feel worried that I may have missed something. Any ideas?

@Westminster @MTR @Be Developer

2. Blacky

Blacky Well-Known Member

Ahh yes, you and every other budding developer in Perth.

Few questions
    1) show us your numbers
    2) whats your strategy?
    3) How did you buy (which entity)?
    4) whats are the terms of the offer
    5) what are your concerns
    6) how will you finance it

Answer these ones and Im sure more will pop up.
    Blacky

Sackie and LifesGood like this.
  3. Blacky

Blacky Well-Known Member

Oh
    7) why Balga? Your a couple of years late jumping on this band wagon (not to say it wont work, but you may have over paid).

4. superace

superace Active Member

What do you feel like you've missed?

There's always pros and cons to developing in a up or down market. In your case, I'm guessing your concerned with final sale prices mostly?

My advice would be to:

- have as much fat in the deal as possible. With less competition for your site, it gives you more power to negotiate on price
    - negotiate strong terms that favour you as much as possible. My favourite is 'subject to DA' which buys me time and reduces my risk.
    - get very comfortable with your worst case scenario and if you can live with that, you can go a long way towards facing your fears and charge forward
    - have multiple exit strategies (sell all, keep all and rent for yield, sell two and keep one to use as equity for next development etc)