Costs of insurances

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by enewbie, 19th Aug, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. enewbie

enewbie Member

hi, I’m a newbie on property. Currently on the process of buying my first ever property located in VIC which will be an investment property. I’m inheriting tenants. I am aware I would need building and landlord insurances. My question is do I get these now even before the settlement? My conveyancer recommends but banker says as long as I have it when it settles. Also how much am I looking at for these insurances? I’ve read people recommending ebm or Terri scher. Why these over others like Allianz, racv, qbe etc? Thanks!

2. brettc

brettc Well-Known Member

There are different rules in different states but often the advice (from solicitors) is that once you sign a contract you have an insurable interest in the property, so better safe to ensure it is protected as you have no idea of the insurance situation with the seller.

In regard to why there is often recommendations for the specialty Insurers/policies (such as EBM or Terri Scheer), there are a multitude of reasons, for one, it's often viewed that there are more specific risks covered than the big insurer policies. These may include the inclusion of accidental damage, pet damage, loss of rent due to hardship or many other risks. Other factors are often the application of excesses or cover during a periodic tenancy. It's a big subject. At the end of the day you need to consider which policy is right for you, and which risks you are willing to take on yourself should you choose a policy with less cover.

TSK likes this.
  3. enewbie

enewbie Member

Ok thanks.
    So what cost am I looking at in terms of these insurances? (Estimate range)

4. brettc

brettc Well-Known Member