Confusion on the procedure to become a mortgage broker, need some help

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Wing, 23rd Jun, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Wing

Wing Member

Hi all,

I am new to this forum and just read another thread regarding to the mortgage broker:
    Mortgage Broking Business Opportunity

However my situation is a little bit difference as, I wish my following information isn't confusing as well:
    0) My first baby will be arrive in the next month so I pretty much want to sort out the procedure first
    1) I've been working as a mortgage broker assistant for 5 years in Melbourne;
    2) I finished the Diploma of Financial Services (Finance/Mortgage Broking Management);
    3) Would like to step up more instead of being an assistant all the time so want to be a mortgage broker and try to get my own client;
    4) I've spoken to my boss D about if I can be a credit representative of my current company and then :
    -My Boss D is the director of Company C
    -Company C belong to the Group G
    -My boss D is also one of the director of the Group G
    -Group G is aggregated with CONNECTIVE
    -Because of the Group G AGREEMENT, all the member worrying that if the new comer (me) did something wrong while being a credit representative of Company C, they may suffer from commission stop so they refuse me to me a credit representative of Company C;
    5) I then now need to acquire my personal ABN, ACN, ACL, PI, CIO, MFAA membership...e.t.c.

So here's the question:
    1) Do I need to be 100% self-employed to have my own ACL? If so, does that mean I need to go throught the ASIC and register the business name, get the ACN then ABN and check if the name belongs to someone else first?
    2) For PI: What's the minimum limit of PI is required for me, simply I don't have any client currently;