Confused about investment strategy

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by FatElephant, 3rd Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. FatElephant

FatElephant Well-Known Member

Hello, my name is Winnie.

I am just getting started on my journey of property investing (well since about May 2019 I've been learning, reading books, reading this forum, podcasts etc.) and now I'm looking for a property (I have a pre approval which expires on 16th March 2020). But I think the longer I'm leaving it, the more I'm thinking about it and the more confused I get and now I'm not sure whether my initial strategy is correct or if there's a better strategy for me. I have thought about paying $4-5k for one of those property investment plans at a place like Metropole or Empower Wealth but I decided that for me, being an absolute blank canvas - there just wouldn't be as much value for me than for someone earning a much higher income, have shares and other investments and/or other property.

I am working with a buyers agent and they did a brief strategy for me. But I feel like I keep changing my mind and thinking of other things. But this is my current position:

Where I currently am:
    • 26 years old, single, living with parents
    • Software Engineer full time (started job in July 2018)
    • $67,200 PAYG gross annual income with capacity to increase as I have more experience in the industry.
    • No properties, no investments or shares.
    • $140k cash savings
    • About 34 years till retirement (if I want to retire by 60)
    • Have a pre-approval for approx $500k (10% deposit + buying costs with my cash deposit), max $550k if doing a 80LVR on Interest only - these numbers are by my investment savy broker).

Wealth Creation Goals: