Company vs Trust with Bucket Company

Discussion in 'Business Accounting, Tax & Legal' started by pinot, 1st Jun, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. pinot

pinot Active Member

Hi all,

I am a small business owner and am currently operating as a partnership with my wife. It is my sole income and my wife has a PAYG income on top. I would like to incorporate the business, mainly for asset protection purposes but I want to ensure I have the right structure going forward. The main goals are

Business Goals:
    - Separate business assets from personal assets
    - Continue to operate the business as tax-effectively as possible.
    - Utilise the profits of the business to help contribute to personal wealth goals (property, shares etc.) as currently, I am near my limit in terms of serviceability.

Personal Goals:
    - Continue to grow the business and use the business profits to generate personal wealth.
    - Currently have a portfolio of 3 properties, looking to help pay down debt and grow the portfolio further. Potentially I am looking to sell 1 property to capitalise on CGT concessions using the 6 year PPOR rule, and then use the equity and the reduced debt to borrow for further investing.

Right now, the business is on a pre-tax income of 160k that gets split between us two, so the tax benefit is marginal for now, however in terms of structure, I think my best options are Company Pty Ltd or Trust Structure.

In my head, I have this basic summary. Have I missed anything?

Company

Pros
    - Asset protection
    - Business can retain profits at corporate tax rates. Retained profits can be reinvested in business, or paid out at a later date to shareholders. Marginal tax rates to personal situation applies to dividends (less franking credits)

Cons