Commercial Property Cycle Clock for different Capital cities

Discussion in 'Commercial Property' started by icic, 7th Apr, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. icic

icic Well-Known Member

Hey friends on PC, I have been investing in residential property for the last 10 years, but I want to tip my toe in commercial property for my next investment(could be for SMSF). In the past, one the most important factor in deciding for me to decide where to buy will be depending on the property cycle.

For residential in different cities, in my view:

• Sydney is at 11-12 clock (Too much risk)
    • Melbourne is at 10-11 clock (Doable, but too little yield)
    • Brisbane, Canberra and Adelaide is at 7-9 clock (Sweet spot)
    • Perth is at 3-6 clock (has to wait for it to bottom out and more positive indicators)

Since I am newbie in this area, please share your thoughts on what you think are property cycle clock for commercial properties in different capital cities?

Last edited: 7th Apr, 2017
  2. Perthguy

Perthguy Well-Known Member

Does Commercial Proeprty run to the same kind of clock to resi? My impression is that it doesn't but I could be wrong. Also, does it matter?

What does this mean for the commercial property investor?

I believe that really does not matter where we are on the property clock to find a good deal.

After all it’s really impossible to predict exactly where we are on the clock at any given time and usually only you will know after a year or so after the bottom or top ,that was actually the bottom or the top of the market.

If you’re an investor that is waiting for the perfect time to buy – you will probably never buy.

When I started my investment career in the early 1980s I decided that it was not a good idea to focus on the “noise” in the market.

To me the best way to find a good investment was to focus on the fundamentals ,the numbers and potential upsides.