Clueless FHB - looking to build a valuation model

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by billbro, 5th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. billbro

billbro New Member

Hi there,

Looking forward to joining the community on here and learning more about the property market.

Context
    Unfortunately, I am a complete novice with this asset class (not that I'm much better in other markets), but I'm here to learn primarily because I've been telling my better half that we should wait and hold off on buying in Sydney until the time was 'right'. No doubt a wise soul on here will probably point out that there is never a 'right' time, but the changing market sentiment and political posturing would seem to indicate that it's time for me to hold up my end of the bargain and actually start learning (which I should have much earlier).

I'm a slow learner, but thankfully having browsed a few different sources and including some threads on here the Sydney market may ease into a lull for the next few years - hopefully, sufficient time for me to learn the basics.

Queries
    So I know this is an introduction, but I do have a few queries if there are any kind souls willing to point me in the right direction:

1. How do people (you) evaluate and assess whether your property purchase is 'good value' or a 'high quality' asset?

Anecdotally among my peer group (millennials), there have been less than a handful that has been able to describe to me a quantitative approach they adopted to actually make a purchase (you could say at least they made a purchase during the boom, instead of wallow in stagnation like myself though). Typically the response is along the lines of, it was the right place, seemed like a good price and was cheaper than similar/recent sales (maybe they didn't want to divulge trade secrets).