Capital improvement or repair?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Itsame, 25th Mar, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Itsame

Itsame Member

Hi all,

I’ve been a lurker here for a while but haven’t needed to post...until now.

I have a regional IP valued at $150k. On a recent condition report I was told the shower was leaking and the base has warped allowing water to escape the shower, also water-damaging the timber behind.

I was quoted $3.5k to repair and install a new shower screen. I decided to get a second opinion who recommended ‘gutting’ the whole thing and doing the whole bathroom with Vinyl. This would cost $7.7k.

Would the first option be depreciable and the second option be a capital improvement? Any pros/cons I should be aware of?

Sorry if the answer is obvious but I’m a bit of a newbie to this.

Thanks in advance

2. bunkai

bunkai Well-Known Member

I'd buy a fibreglass shower cubicle

Terry_w likes this.
  3. Depreciator

Depreciator Well-Known Member

How long have you owned the IP for? If the damage occurred while you were renting it out, you should be okay claiming the $3K as a repair.
    You are correct in thinking that if you reno the whole bathroom, it's an improvement.

Paul@PAS likes this.
  4. Itsame

Itsame Member

I’ve owned the property for a little over 5 years. I thought maybe I could claim some of the $7k as a repair and some went to capital?

5. Depreciator

Five years is good.
    Yep, you might be able to split the total cost into repairs vs improvements. The quote of $3,500 for the repair job would be a useful guide. Let your accountant know that you understand there is a point where a repair strays into improvement territory.

6. Itsame

Itsame Member

Great, thanks for your posts!

7. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member