Can you give me a very rough estimate of what this would cost?

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Michael Davis, 12th May, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Michael Davis

Michael Davis Member

Hi there,

First home buyer on the Central Coast NSW looking to buy a place that we can extend down the track. Have found an option, but I have zero experience and knowledge on extensions and renovations. I was wondering if anyone out there could have a crack at a rough estimate of cost of the attached possible changes. Very rough, and no serious detail at all. I know the answer will begin with 'depends', and that's OK. I just need something to go off from people who've got some knowledge.
    -Large (ish) new kitchen (on the cheaper side)
    -new position of laundry
    -open plan living/dining
    -cheap flooring options
    -new bedroom from laundry extended out

House is raised up on joists and bearers.

I was thinking 70k. Any guesses to the nearest 10k would be appreciated. Even to the nearest 20k!

Any thoughts?

Attached Files:

2. Propertunity

Propertunity Well-Known Member

If you're going to make it a 4 bedder, you need 2 x bathrooms and possibly 2 x car so it becomes a 4,2,2,
    You're moving the roof line too - colorbond or tile? Too many unknowns to quote. Load bearing walls? Hardiplank or timber or brick?

3. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Hey Michael, who not just go for a 4 bedroom house?
    That looks like a lot of work for not much benefit.
    Is there an option for raising it up and building underneath?

4. Michael Davis

Michael Davis Member

We would have the option of adding an ensuite to the main (where current walk-in-robe/porch area is), so could make it 2 bathrooms. Not a priority early though.