QLD Calculating approx profit - subdivide, knockdown and rebuild.

Discussion in 'Property Analysis' started by Smee, 27th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Smee

Smee Well-Known Member

Feedback welcome on this:

Firstly, I will say upfront, I am by no means an expert on this.

I have been provided with quotes for subdividing and knockdown. I have applied these with my calculations on what the possible profit would be.

I have discussed with a couple of builders and agents. Some agree, some don't. I'd like to get feedback from the Propertychat community.

If I was a developer/builder:

Buy land (Eight Mile Plains, Brisbane): $925,000
    Demolish house and Pool : $20,000 (quoted)
    DA and Subdivision works into 2 blocks: $78,000 (quoted)
    Build 2 houses (2 storey): $700,000
    Total: $1,723,000

Sell 2 houses: $2,200,000
    Profit before tax: $477,000
    If CGT 26% (2020/21): $124,020
    Profit after tax $352,980
    Profit percentage 20%

* no ATO discount or any cost base deductions applied.

2. Christina46

Christina46 Well-Known Member

GST? Holding costs? Selling fees?

3. Smee

Smee Well-Known Member

Cheers. If I find out more on these and factor these in, would that be all I would need to work out approx profit (If sale price eventuates)? I also assume more profit when calculating CGT.

4. Christina46

Christina46 Well-Known Member

I haven't been through the process myself @Smee, but those few stood out as gaps to me. Contingency would be the other one.

Build price looks tight to me for a turn key property (incl landscaping etc), but I assume you have spoken to some builders and have pricing for similar standard of homes that are selling for your expected sale price in the area?