Buying on a slope

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Man_needs_a_name, 26th Mar, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Man_needs_a_name

Man_needs_a_name Member

This property I'm looking at is on a downward sloping lot. Like the house opposite the street is on a much higher slope than this house is and the slant goes downwards.

The slope is not small, the house on the other side has the garage as an undercoat without needing any excavation of you know what I mean.

The level of the house I'm looking at has the roof lined up against the top of the garage opposite.

It's a decent size block, probably would be subdividable in 10+ years time, house is built in the early 70s and that's what I can fit in my budget.

The long term plan would be to rent it out until subdivision is possible and then demo and rebuild two houses.

Is the slope going to be a big issue trying to sell the block?
    I'm a noob, and this would be my first IP, so any help is appreciated.

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Probably. The biggest issue is whether it drains well, and then after that, how hard it is to build on it.

3. Man_needs_a_name

Man_needs_a_name Member

Yeah what should I look out for? The whole area is on top of a small hill, so drainage is not really an issue.
    The house is level, so the land under the house also should be level currently.

The question is how much of a mistake is it to buy?
    This property has never been sold since built, so I cannot really compare what growth is an acceptable range.
    I would say the slope is anywhere between 10-20degrees

4. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

Honestly you probably need an expert report if you're not sure how to assess it yourself. Otherwise I would assume the worst.

Man_needs_a_name likes this.
  5. balwoges

balwoges Well-Known Member